Sophie Barker

Sophie Barker is a British singer from London, best known for her work with the downtempo group Zero 7. Sophie left University College London after two years to become a professional musician. She is the co-writer of Zero 7’s biggest hits, ‘In the Waiting Line” and “Destiny”, that she sings alongside fellow vocalist Sia Furler. Simple things has sold more than one million copies worldwide, Barker also contributed to the follow-up Zero 7 album, “When It Falls”, co-writing the songs “Passing By” and “In Time.”

Barker released a solo album, “Earthbound” (2004) and also “Lullaby” (2004) an album of soothing night-time songs for children that was signed to Sony. She released a further 2 albums Toybox and Snowflake (2010) with long term music partner KK.

Barker has also worked with The Egg, Grooverider, Groove Armada (Platinum selling album, “Vertigo”) and the acid-jazz duo Muki.  Barker was featured in a 2006 British Airways UK television campaign, singing a cover version of John Denver’s “Leaving on a Jet Plane”. Barker also featured as a guest singer and co-writer on Quiet Letters (2003) and No-one built this moment (2009) by Bliss.

In May 2011 Barker released her second album Seagull on Hohum. In 2013 she released a remix album, “Dusk to Dawn” under her own label SBM.  In January 2017 she released her 3rd album, “Break the Habit” and LSA remix album on Disco Gecko.  In October 2019 she released a remix album Neon Lines under indie dance label DeepDownDirty.

In 2020 she released “Sing” under “The Rainbow Collections” (Sony) and Lullaby went GOLD.  2021 Sophie and KK are currently working on their children’s album, “There is a Pot of Gold at the End of Every Rainbow”.

twitter @Thesophiebarker